Embu County Budget Docs

Embu County is located in Eastern Kenya and borders Tharaka Nithi County to the North, Kitui County to the East, Machakos County to the South, Muranga County to the South West, Kirinyaga County to the West, and Meru County to the North West. Its capital is Embu town and covers an area of 2,818Km2.

According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the County has a population of 516,212, a population density of 183 people per km2 and an annual growth rate of 1.7%. The Age Distribution is; 0-14 years 37.5 %, 15-64 years 57.3 %, 65+ years 5.2 %.It has the following constituencies; Manyatta, Runyenjes, Mbeere South and Mbeere North.

Quotable Quotes: