Wajir County Budget Docs

Wajir County is located in North Eastern Kenya and borders Mandera County to the North and North East, Somalia to the East, Garissa County to the South and South West, Isiolo County and Marsabit County to the West and Ethiopia to the North West. It covers an area of 56,685.8Km2 according to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census. Its Capital is Wajir town.

According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 661,941 with a population density of 12 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 3.7%. Age Distribution was; 0-14 years 51.8% with the economically productive age of 15-64 years standing at 45.9% with those aged above 65 years accounting for 2.2% of the total population. It has the following constituencies; Wajir East, Wajir West, Wajir North, Wajir South, Eldas and Tarbaj.

Quotable Quotes: