Meru County Budget Docs

Meru County is located along the eastern side of the Mt Kenya ring. Meru County borders Isiolo County to the North and North East, Tharaka County to the South West, Nyeri County to the South West and Laikipia County to the West. Its capital is Meru town and covers an area of 6,936.0Km2. According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, the population was 1,356,301 people with a population density of 195.5 people per Km2. The age distribution is as follows: 0-14 years 39.9%, 15-64 years 55.6%, 65+ years 4.4 %. Its constituencies are; Igembe South, Igembe North, Igembe Central, Tigania East, Tigania West, North Imenti, Buuri, Central Imenti and South Imenti.

Quotable Quotes: