Machakos County Budget Docs

Machakos County borders Nairobi and Kiambu counties to the West, Embu to the North, Kitui to the East, Makueni to the South, Kajiado to the South West and Murang’a and Kirinyaga to the North West. Machakos County stretches from latitudes 00 45’ South to 10 31’ South and longitudes 360 45’ East to 370 45’ East.

According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census the population was 1,098,584 with a population density of 177 people per Km2 and an annual growth rate of 2.47%. Age Distribution was 0-14 years 41.7%, 15-64 years 54.8% and over 65 years 3.5%.

It has the following constituencies; Masinga, Yatta, Kangundo, Kathiani, Mavoko, Machakos Town and Mwala.

Quotable Quotes: